Paying For Uninsured And Underinsured Motorist Insurance
Having auto insurance can be reassuring, and is also a requirement under the law for those operating vehicles on streets and highways in Kansas. Failure to have the required auto insurance can lead to a suspension or revocation of a driver’s license, fines, and even jail time. Despite these penalties, there are many drivers who fail to get auto insurance. When an insured driver gets into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured negligent driver, it may mean that the insured driver has to shoulder the cost of the accident.
What is the Difference Between Them?
An uninsured driver is one who carries no liability insurance on their vehicle; an underinsured driver is one whose insurance would not cover the property damage and medical expenses that result from an accident. Drivers in Kansas are required to carry uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance equal to the amount of liability coverage that they have on their vehicles. This means that drivers need to have coverage at a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. When drivers who carry uninsured or underinsured insurance get into an accident and discover the other driver has no insurance or is underinsured, they make a claim to their own insurance company for compensation.
The $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident figures are minimum coverage limits, and drivers may pay more in premiums to secure higher coverage limits; indeed, a driver may choose to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance with a $100,000 per accident limit. If the driver gets in an accident with an uninsured driver, the former’s insurance policy would cover all costs up to $100,000 per accident, and if a driver is underinsured, the policy would bridge the gap between the underinsured driver’s insurance and the injured driver’s costs.
Drivers should note that lacking auto insurance alone does not mean that a driver involved in a car accident will be found negligent. The lack of insurance rarely has a bearing on the negligence or cause of an auto accident.
We Can Assist You with Your Case
Talking to insurance companies after a car accident can be stressful. You may not be certain of what to say to the insurance company, and the insurance representative may attempt to make you admit to certain things that reduce their liability. Before agreeing to any settlements from the insurance company, or making any statements beyond reporting the accident, it is important to consult with a personal injury attorney. Contact the experienced car accident attorneys of the Wall Huntington Law Firm in Wichita, Kansas, by calling 316-265-6000.